Retention policies allow you to manage how many file versions to keep, or how long. To set up a custom retention policy for the backup data, use the retention options in the Backup Wizard when creating a new backup plan.
- Delete versions older than - All file versions older than the value defined in the "File version age" field will be deleted.
- Always keep the last version - This option allows to keep the last file version even if it is out of date according to the retention policy.
- Keep number of versions - This option allows to keep a certain number of file versions for each file.
- Delete files that have been deleted locally - This option allows to clear up backup storage (i.e. automatically delete cloud files) if these files no longer exist on source.
If you specify both options - "File version age" and "Number of version", a retention policy will delete file versions according to any of these condititions. If a version is outdated by the age, it will be deleted even if there are fewer versions than you have specified in the "Number of versions" field. On the contrary, if a file version is not outdated by the age but there are more versions than you have specified in the "Number of versions" field, it will be deleted.