Products: Managed Backup (Agent), Managed Backup (Web), Connect, RMM Agent, Deep Instinct
Article ID: m0408Last Modified: 08-Oct-2026

Best Practices for Backup Agent

Always Test and Install the Latest Agent Versions

Keep Backup Agents installed on users' computers up to date. New versions contain not only new and improved features, but also stability, performance, and security enhancements. You can create a new build for the latest version from Downloads, test it in your environment from the sandbox, and once the new release is approved, click the Make Public option so deployed copies of Backup Agent are automatically updated the next time they start a backup or restore.

To make sure automatic updates are enabled, proceed as follows:

  1. In the Management Console, click Downloads.
  2. In the Downloads panel, switch to Options.

  1. Make sure the Allow auto-update option is turned on. You can exclude some computers from auto-update list, if needed.

Lock Backup Agent/CLI with a Master Password

You can also optionally set a master password to restrict access to Backup Agent (this will also restrict access to the underlying Managed Backup APIs from the client) and to CLI. To enable this feature, you need to use the Computers page. Expand the actions in the end of the required computer, and select Edit > Edit Options. To enable these options, check Protect Agent with a Master Password and/or Protert CLI with master password in the General tab.

You can reset this master password in case you lost it or suspect that this password is compromised.

Lock Out Files Deletion on The Backup Agent

The Storage tab of Backup Agent is the place where most of the metadata is stored. You can restore files from it with a few clicks. You can also delete data from this tab.

To disable the option, proceed as follows:

  1. Open the Management Console.
  2. In the Settings menu, select Global Agent Options.
  3. In the General group, unselect the Allow data deletion in Backup Agent checkbox.
  4. Click Save Changes.