Article ID: m0125Last Modified: 06-Oct-2026

Backup Storage Browser

The backup storage browsing feature allows you to view all backups across all computers, perform item-level restores, and delete backup data created using the new backup format (NBF). This functionality is available for Windows computers running Backup Agent for Windows version 8.7 or later, for Files backup plans on Linux computers running Backup Agent for Linux version 4.5.3 or later, and for Files backup plans on macOS computers running Backup Agent for macOS version 4.5.3 or later.

To access the backup storage browser for a selected computer, navigate to Backup > Computers and click the computer whose backup data you want to access.

  1. Click the Backup Storage tab on the side panel.

  1. Select the backup storage containing the required backup data.

  1. To view the backup content, select a backup plan or one of the backup plan generations.

  1. To view all available file versions inside the generations, if any, turn on the File versions view selector.

Restore from Backups

Coming soon

Item-Level Restore from Backups

Item-level restore from long-term (cold) backup storages is not currently supported.

Item-level restore is supported for the following operating systems and file systems:

  • Linux:
    • ext2
    • ext3
    • ext4
    • XFS
    • Btrfs (partial support; RAID configurations are not supported)
    • LVM
  • Windows:
    • FAT
    • FAT32
    • NTFS
  • macOS (Apple Silicon)

Item-Level Restore in Management Console

To perform granular recovery in the Backup Storage Browser:

  1. On the Backup > Computers page, click the name of the computer from which you want to perform the restore.
  2. Click the Backup storage tab to access the backup storage browser.
  3. If you only want to restore specific files or folders from a backup, expand the backup storage containing the backup, find the required backup and continue browsing the restore points in the left pane.

  1. Expand the restore point content in the left pane and find the file or entire folder you need to restore. Select the item, then click Restore.

  1. Select one of the available restore options. The following restore options can be available:
    • Original computer. You can select a location on the source computer to restore the item.
    • Different computer. You can select another computer to restore the item to. Backup Agent 8.7.5 or later must be installed on the selected computer to perform the restore.
    • My device (via Quick restore app). This feature is available only for computers running Windows.
    • My device (download via browser). This restore option is available for items smaller than 5 GB. The My device (download via browser) option is selected in this example.

  1. Click Restore. You can monitor the restore process. When the restore is completed, click Download and select the destination for the restored item.

  1. Select the restore destination to save the data.

Restore Backup Data using Quick Restore App

To restore backup data, perform the following:

  1. On the Backup > Computers page, click the online computer whose backup content you want to browse.
  2. Click the Backup Storage tab on the side panel.
  3. Select the backup storage containing the required backup data.

  1. To view the backup content, select a backup plan or one of the backup plan generations.

  1. Select Restore to perform the restore using the Quick Restore application. This feature can only be used on computers running Windows.

  1. Select the restore destination.
  2. Download and install the Quick Restore Application, if it is not already installed.
  3. Open the Quick Restore application and follow the restore procedure as described here.

Restore Backup Plans

Refer to the Restore Backup Plan article for instructions on how to restore backup plans for different use cases.

Item-Level Restore to Original or Different Computer

As of Management Console version 9.6, you can search by file name for item-level restore (new backup format only).

  • Plan level: file search across the latest generation

  • Generation level: file search across all generations

If you do not remember the file name, use the following procedure:

  1. On the Backup > Computers page, click the computer from which you want to perform an item-level restore.
  2. Click the Backup Storage tab on the side panel.
  3. Select the backup storage containing the required backup data.

  1. To view the backup content, select a backup plan.

  1. To perform an item-level restore, expand the generation to see full or incremental backup plan runs inside.
  2. Navigate to the required items and select them.

Restore points view

File versions view

  1. Click the Restore button.
  2. Select the restore destination: a different computer or the online source computer (original computer). Note that you cannot perform a restore to an offline computer.

  1. You can choose to overwrite existing files.

  1. Click Restore. The restore of the required items will begin.

Delete Backups

Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) is required to delete backup data.

To delete a backup for a specific computer, perform the following:

  1. On the Backup > Computers page, click the online computer for which you want to delete backup plan data.
  2. Click the Backup Storage tab on the side panel.
  3. Select the backup storage containing the backup data to delete.

  1. Find the backup plan you want to delete data for in the right panel.
  2. Click the Delete button in the backup grid entry and confirm the deletion.

If it is not possible to delete the backup (for example, if the backup is protected with Object Lock for GFS backups), the Delete button will be disabled.

  1. Confirm the deletion.

Delete Generations

You can delete a selected generation if the deletion operation is available for that generation. Note that the current generation and generations protected with the Object Lock feature cannot be deleted. Additionally, if the current generation only has backups with warnings, the deletion operation will be unavailable for the previous one. This ensures that valid restore points are always maintained.

Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) is required to delete backup data.

To delete a backup generation for a specific computer, perform the following:

  1. On the Backup > Computers page, click the online computer for which you want to delete a backup generation.
  2. Click the Backup Storage tab on the side panel.
  3. Select the backup storage containing the required backup plan.

  1. Select the backup plan to delete a backup generation from.

  2. Find the generation you want to delete in the right panel.

  3. Click the Delete generation button in the backup grid entry.

  4. Confirm the deletion.

If it is not possible to delete the generation (for example, if the backup generation is protected with Object Lock for GFS backups), the Delete generation button will be disabled.

https://git.cloudberrylab.com/egor.m/doc-help-mbs.git
Production