Products: Managed Backup (Agent), Managed Backup (Web)
Article ID: m0249Last Modified: 05-Oct-2026

Create User

Managed Backup is equipped with an efficient tool to manage your users. To manage users, the Organization > Users and Organization > Create/Edit Users permissions should be granted as administrator permissions on the Organization > Administrators page.

To Open the User Management Page

  1. Open the Management Console.
  2. In the Organization menu, select Users. Administrative accounts should have the Manage Users permission to perform this operation.

To Create a New User

  1. Open the Management Console.
  2. In the Organization menu, select Users.
  3. Click +.
  4. Specify the user's email address in the Account box, then specify the user's first and last names and the password for the user.

  1. To check whether the user name is available, click Validate user account. If the user name is already taken, you will receive an appropriate notification.

  2. The Management Console generates the initial password for the user automatically. You can modify it manually in the Password field.

  3. If Online Access is enabled, the Allow user to log in to Online Access checkbox will be selected for a new user. You can clear this checkbox to disable the Online Access feature for this user.

  4. In the Company drop-down list, select the company that will include this user.

  5. Specify alternative email addresses for notifications. These email addresses will be used to notify the user about backup plan results and for other notifications. If you want to specify several email addresses, use a semicolon to separate them.

  6. Click Create.

Now the new user is created, and you can see this user in the user grid on the Organization > Users page. Click the user account in the User Account column to edit the user in the side panel.

Edit User

To change the user's settings, perform the following:

  1. Open the Management Console.
  2. In the Organization menu, select Users. On the Organization > Users page, click the user account in the User Account column to edit the user in the side panel.

  1. Configure the user as described below.
  2. Once you have made all the required changes, click Save.

Personal Info

Configure/change the user's personal info.

  1. You can change the user's email address in the Account box, then specify the user name and the password for the user.

  1. To check whether the user name is available, click Validate user account. If the user name is already taken, you will receive an appropriate notification.
  2. You can change the user password with Change Password or send the reset password link to the user to delegate password changing.
  3. If you want the user to start using backup and restore plans immediately, select the Enabled check box. You can disable the user whenever you need to stop backing up the user data. Created backups remain on the backup storage according to the applied retention period.
  4. If Online Access is enabled, the Allow user to log in to Online Access checkbox will be selected for a new user. You can clear this checkbox to disable the Online Access feature for this user.
  5. Click Edit next to Company to select the company that will include this user.
  6. Specify the user's first and last names (optional).
  7. Specify alternative email addresses for notifications (optional). These email addresses will be used to notify the user about backup plan results and for other notifications. If you want to specify several email addresses, use a semicolon to separate them.

Backup Destination

On this tab, you can manage the backup destinations available for this user's backups.

All existing backup storage destinations that are available for the user are already added to the tab. To add a backup storage destination, click + Add New. Navigate to Storage Accounts to add a new storage destination with the To create a new backup storage destination, click here link or enter a search request to find the required storage account.

In the Storage Limit drop-down menu, select one of the existing storage limits for the user. To learn more about storage limits for users, refer to the Storage Account chapter.

Licenses

On this tab, you can manage licensing options for the user.

If the company containing the user has its own license settings, you cannot change them for this user only. Use the Customize company license settings link to change these settings for the company.

If custom company license settings are not applied, select the pool to assign available licenses from.

  • Global Pool. Select this option if you want the new user to activate the license from the global pool.
  • User Pool. Select this option if you want to restrict the number of licenses the user can activate.

If you selected activation from the user pool, specify the number of licenses available for this user for each license type.

Computers

On this tab, you can manage computers authorized using this user account.

You can see how many computers are authorized using the user account, and remove authorization for all computers using the Remove All button. This action requires confirmation.

In the grid, you can see all available computers and remove authorization for any of them. You can also see who last logged on to the computer.

Once you are finished, click Save.

Search and Filtering

To view only enabled users in the user grid, turn on the Enabled users only selector.

To search for users associated with a specific company, select the company in the Company filter.

To search for users, enter a search query in the Enter Search Request field, and then click the search icon.