File Restore In Management Console

With MSP360 Managed Backup you can restore files directly to users' computers via Management Console.

This chapter covers the following topics:

Create New File Restore Plan

To create a new restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Open the Management Console.
  2. In the Computers menu, select Remote Management.
  3. Find the required computer, then click the gear icon.
  4. Select Show Plans.

  1. Click +.
  2. In the Restore group, select Files.

Restore Wizard Steps

Plan Name

Select the restore plan mode:

  • Select the Run restore once option to restore files only once
  • Select the Save Restore Plan option to save the plan configuration for future use. Specify the name of the plan

Click Next.

| Top |

Select Backup Storage

Select the backup destination that contains the required backup from the list.

Click Next.

| Top |

Select Computer (optional)

This restore wizard step appears only if the specified backup destination contains several backups from different computers.

Select the required computer.

Click Next.

| Top |

Select Backup

Select the backup to restore from the list of available backups.

Click Next.

| Top |

Select Restore Point

Select what to restore.

For backups made in the new backup format, select the latest version of the specific restore point from the list below.

For backup made in the legacy backup format, select one of the available options:

  • Select the Latest Version option to restore the latest image version of the selected backup
  • Select the Point in Time option to restore the image version for the specified date and time
  • Select the Modified Period option to restore the image version based on the modification period, then specify the period
  • Select the Backup Period option to restore the image version based on the backup period, then specify the period
  • Select the Manually option to proceed to manual image version selection

Note that the time must be specified in the provider time zone. Point the mouse to the hint icon to see the provider time zone

Click Next.

| Top |

Restore Source

Select files and folders to restore.

Click Next.

| Top |

Select Destination

Select the destination to restore files.

To restore files and folders to their original location, select the Restore to original location option. To restore files and folders to specific location, select the Restore to specific location option, then speciy it in the field below. You can save the specified path for future restores. To do this, select the Save this location as default destination for future restores check box.

Additionally, the following options are available:

  • Restore deleted files. This option allows to restore locally deleted files that had been deleted prior to restore
  • Overwrite existing files. This option specifies whether to replace the existing files in the destination folder with their newer versions or keep the older files and do not restore their newer versions. Different file versions are attributed to the same file only if their names are identical to that of the original file. This is why a file that has been renamed in local storage will not be considered to be a new version of the previously named file. When this option is enabled, you can also specify whether to restore only newer file versions or all files regardless of their modification time
  • Restore only new files. This option can be enable only with the Overwrite existing files option. With this option enabled, only files with modification date and time newer than the ones at the restore destination are restored
  • Restore NTFS permissions. If a backup contains NTFS permissions of files and folders backed up, you can enable this option to restore these permissions along with the selected files

Click Next.

| Top |

Encryption Options (optional)

Enter the encryption password if your backup is encrypted.

Click Next.

| Top |

Schedule Options

Specify the schedule for the restore plan.

The following options are available:

  • No schedule (run manually). Select this option to run the restore plan manually, only when it is required
  • Specific date. Select this option to specify the date and time the restore plan is to be executed
  • Recurring. Select this option to run the restore plan on a periodic basis, then configure the schedule

  • Stop the plan if it runs for. Select this option if you want to stop the restore plan if it runs longer than the time you specified. Use this option with care since sometimes it is hard to predict the restore time due to many factors
  • Alert the plan as Overdue. Select this option to monitor the plan execution. If the restore plan fails or is finished with warnings for the specified period of time, it will be assigned with the Overdue status that will appear on the Monitoring/History page
  • Run missed scheduled plan immediately when computer starts up. Select this option if you want the restore plan would run as the computer boots in case it was down at the moment of the scheduled run

Click Next.

| Top |

Pre / Post Actions

Specify the actions before and/or after the restore plan. Usually, these are scripts that perform particular jobs before or after the plan is executed. The following settings are available:

!

  • To specify the action that must be performed before the restore plan starts, select the Pre-restore action check box
  • Specify the path to the script before the restore plan
  • Specify the conditions for pre-action execution:
    • Select the Do not run the restore plan if the pre-restore action fails option to suspend the restore plan execution in case the pre-action fails
    • Select the Run the restore plan if the pre-restore action fails option if you want the restore plan to run regardless of the pre-action execution result
  • To specify the action that will be performed after the restore plan completes, select the Post-restore action check box
    • Select the Execute the post-restore action only if the restore plan completes successfully option if you want to run it only if the backup was executed without any errors or warnings.
    • Select the Execute post-restore action regardless of the restore plan result option if you want the post-action to be executed regardless of the restore plan result

Click Next.

| Top |

Notifications

Specify notification settings for restore plan results. You can use the company notification settings or customize them as needed: specify the required recipients and customize the notifications for different restore plan results: Success Failure Warning

!

Select the I want to receive a notification email to enable notifications.

  • Select When the restore plan fails or finished with warnings option if you want to receive the notification message in case the restore plan terminates with errors or warnings
  • Select the In all cases option if you want the notification to be delivered in all cases

If you want the restore plan results to be added to Windows Event Log, select the Add entry to Windows Event Log check box

  • Select When the restore plan fails or finished with warnings option if you want to receive the notification message in case the restore plan terminates with errors or warnings
  • Select the In all cases option if you want the entry to be put in Windows Event Log in any case.

Click the Next, then click Save to finish the wizard.

Run the Restore Plan

To run the restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Find the required computer to run the restore, then click the gear icon.
  2. Select Show Plans.
  3. Click the play button.

| Top |

Edit the Restore Plan

To edit the restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Find the required computer to run the restore, then click the gear icon.
  2. Select Show Plans.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Make the required changes, then click Save.

| Top |

Delete the Restore Plan

To edit the restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Find the required computer to run the restore, then click the gear icon.
  2. Select Show Plans.
  3. Click Delete.
  4. Confirm the plan deletion.

| Top |