File-Level Restore

If necessary, you can restore data from a backup directly to the user's computer using Management Console.

To restore files, proceed as follows:

  1. Open the Management Console.
  2. In the RMM menu, select Remote Management.
  3. Find the required computer, then click the gear icon.
  4. Select Show Plans.

  1. Click +.

  1. In the Restore group, select Files.

  1. To configure the restore plan, expand the bars subsequentially.
  2. In the Plan Name group, specify whether you run run the restore plan once or save the restore plan configuration.

  1. In the Restore Type group, specify the point in time for the restore plan. Select one of the following options:
    • Latest Version. Enables you to restore the latest versions of files available in backup storage
    • Point In Time. Enables you to restore file versions available in your backup storage at the specified date and time
    • Modification period. Restores the latest versions of files that were modified during a specific period of time
    • Backup period. Enables you to restore the latest file versions from all backups that were made during a specific period of time
    • Manually. Select the required files to be restored manually.

  1. In the Restore Source group, select the source backup storage and the backup data to restore.

  1. In the Destination group, specify the restore destination settings. Select one of the following options:
    • Restore to the original location. Select this option to restore the selected backup data to the same location specified while backing up
    • Restore to a specific location. Select this option to restore backup date a custom directory
    • Restore deleted files. This option enables you to select if to restore locally deleted files in case the corresponding backup plan prior was configured to keep track locally deleted files. Once you configure a new backup plan, the Backup Wizard enables you to choose whether or not the backup should store any data that has been deleted from local storage
    • Overwrite existing files. This option specifies whether to replace the existing files in the destination folder with their newer versions or keep the older files and do not restore their newer versions. Different file versions are attributed to the same file only if their names are identical to that of the original file. This is why a file that has been renamed in local storage will not be considered to be a new version of the previously named file. When this option is enabled, you can also specify whether to restore only newer file versions or all files regardless of their modification time
    • Restore NTFS permissions. If a backup contains NTFS permissions assigned to files and folders, you can enable this option to restore these permissions along with the selected files

  1. In the Compression and Encryption Options group, specify the encryptions password in case your source backup was previously encrypted.

  1. In the Notification group, specify the notification settings. Select one of the following options:

    • Use company options. Select this option to apply the notification settings configured for the company the source computer is assigned to
    • Specify custom. Select this option to specify the custom settings for this restore plan

    To receive the notification after the restore plan completion, select User receives a notification email when restore completes check box.

    • Select When restore fails check box if you want users receive the notification message only in case of the restore plan failure
    • Select In all cases check box if you want to receive the notification message in any case.

    To record the event in the Windows Event Log, select the Add entry to Windows Event Log when plan completes check box.

    • Select When restore fails check box if you want users receive the notification message only in case of the restore plan failure
    • Select In all cases check box if you want to receive the notification message in any case.

  1. Once you are done, click Save.

Run the Restore Plan

To run the restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Find the required computer to run the restore, then click the gear icon.
  2. Select Show Plans.
  3. Click the play button.

Edit the Restore Plan

To edit the restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Find the required computer to run the restore, then click the gear icon.
  2. Select Show Plans.
  3. Click Edit.

  1. Make the required changes, then click Save.

Delete the Restore Plan

To edit the restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Find the required computer to run the restore, then click the gear icon.
  2. Select Show Plans.
  3. Click Delete.

  1. Confirm the plan deletion.