Backup Templates: Changes in Logic
In previous versions of the Management Console, backup templates were applied automatically after any change. As a result, in some cases, fine-tuned backup plans on some computers were overwritten.
Now the logic of applying backup templates has been improved. New options have been added to provide more flexibility:
- The backup template is applied automatically only once
- Introduced the option to manually select computers to re-apply a backup template
- Implemented the ability to exclude specific computers from the template deployment list
Template Deployment Improved: Backup Template Applied Only Once
In the current version of the Management Console, backup templates are applied automatically only once. This improvement provides more flexible deployment of backup templates allowing you to bypass computers with previously configured custom settings.
If the modified template was already applied to computers, it will be applied automatically only to new computers in the template deployment list. Once you save the template, you will be informed about the list of computers where this template cannot be applied automatically.
You can customize the list of computers the modified template will be applied to again.
The template deployment list determines the target computers the template applies to.
As the backup template is saved, computers that match the application settings can be in one of three statuses:
- Pending. Waiting for the backup template to be applied
- Applied. The backup template was applied successfully
- Failed. The backup template cannot be applied
A computer in the Pending status receives the latest backup template once. Then the Pending status is automatically changed to Applied or Failed.
Backup templates can be applied only manually to computers with the Applied and Failed statuses.
If the list of computers on the Apply To tab was modified and some computers with the Pending status were removed from the template deployment list, the template will never be applied to these computers.
To see the new logic step by step, read the Create Backup Template Example chapter.
'Exclude Computers' Option
Excluding computers from the template deployment list allows you to use the backup template only for new computers in the list or to perform more flexible deployment by selecting only those computers where the backup template is needed.
Read about the 'Exclude Computers' option in the 'Managing Backup Templates' chapter. Backup templates can be easily configured for any group of computers.