Restore to Virtual Disk in Management Console
To create a new restore plan, proceed as follows:
- Open the Backup > Computers page in the main menu.
- Find the required computer, then click the Configure icon in the Backup Plan Status column.
- On the side panel, expand +Add new plan to select Image-based restore plan. The restore plan wizard starts.

To simplify the restore process, click +Add new plan and select a restore option from the backup storage browser for this or another computer. You will be redirected to the backup storage browser to find the required backup and configure the restore options.

- The first step when making a restore plan is to select whether it should run only once or be saved for future or scheduled use. The latter will allow you to name the plan.

- (Optional) This step is skipped if you use the backup storage browser to create the plan. You will need to select the restore source. Select the backup destination that contains the required backup from the list.

Note that item-level restore from long-term (cold) backup storages is not currently supported.
- (Optional) This step is skipped if you use the backup storage browser to create the plan. You will need to select the computer to be restored. This restore wizard step appears only if the specified backup destination contains several backups from different computers.

- (Optional) This step is skipped if you use the backup storage browser to create the plan. You will need to select the backup plan that contains the desired restore point. Select the backup to restore from the list of available backups.

- The next step is to select the desired point in time to restore to. For backups made in the new backup format, select the latest version or a specific restore point from the list below.
- Latest version: Automatically restores the newest version of each file in the source regardless of which restore point it belongs to.
- Select the Restore Point: Restores the image as it existed at the specified restore point.
- (legacy) Select the Point in Time option to restore the image version for the specified date and time.
- (legacy) Select the Modified Period option to restore the image version based on the modification period, then specify the period.
- (legacy) Select the Backup Period option to restore the image version based on the backup period, then specify the period.
- (legacy) Select the Manually option to proceed to manual image version selection

Note that the time must be specified in the provider time zone. Point the mouse to the hint icon to see the provider time zone.
- Select the desired target format for the restored data. To restore the image as a virtual disk file, select the Restore as Virtual Disk option, then select the virtual disk format from the list of available formats.
- Restore as physical disk: Restores the partitions selected later to a physical disk.
- Restore as virtual disk: Restores the data as a virtual disk in multiple popular formats.

- After selecting the type of restore target in the previous step, you now need to select which partitions to restore. You can also choose to convert GPT to MBR if needed.
- Convert GPT to BIOS/MBR: Select this checkbox if the target instance or the target OS does not support UEFI boot and requires BIOS boot.

- If you click the used space value highlighted in blue or the folder icon, the exclusion menu opens:

- Using this menu, you can select the folders you want to exclude from the restore job:

- If you click the target size highlighted in blue or the pen icon, the partition size menu opens:

- Using the partition size menu, you can extend your target partition:

Attempts to restore to a smaller partition can succeed if no blocks in the backup image are used beyond the size of the new partition. If such blocks exist, the restore plan will fail with a “block intersection exists” error.
- After selecting the partitions to be restored, you will be prompted to select the destination disk or partitions.

Be careful to select the correct target disk(s) and partition(s). All data in the selected targets will be permanently destroyed.
The application will now allow you to restore to the boot volume of the target computer from Windows or MBS. To restore the boot volume, use the Bare Metal Restore bootable USB.
- If the image backup dataset was encrypted, the restore plan will prompt you to enter the password.

- If the restore plan is saved for later, set the schedule for the plan next; otherwise, proceed to the next step.


The following options are available:
- No schedule (run manually). Select this option to run the restore plan manually, only when it is required.
- Specific date. Select this option to specify the date and time the restore plan is to be executed.
- Recurring. Select this option to run the restore plan on a periodic basis, then configure the schedule.

- Stop the plan if it runs for. Select this option if you want to stop the restore plan if it runs longer than the time you specified. Use this option with care, since it is sometimes hard to predict the restore time due to many factors.
- Mark plan as Overdue after. Select this option to monitor the plan execution. If the restore plan fails or finishes with warnings for the specified period of time, it will be assigned the Overdue status that will appear on the Monitoring/History page.
- Run missed scheduled plan immediately when computer starts up. Select this option if you want the restore plan to run when the computer boots in case it was down at the time of the scheduled run.
It is recommended to Synchronize repository before restore if you are restoring a backup dataset for a computer other than the original one or if you are signed in with a different backup user.
Do not use the Stop the plan if it runs for option if you have a slow or unstable internet connection.
Enabling the Run missed scheduled restore immediately when computer starts up option will ensure that the restore plan will begin automatically after the computer starts up if it was unable to run at the scheduled time. This is only recommended for desktops and laptops. For servers, it is recommended that you run the restore plan manually when all maintenance work is completed to avoid adversely affecting server performance and internet bandwidth during working hours.
- The next step is to specify any pre- or post-actions that should be triggered by the restore plan (optional).

- Finally, specify any notifications you would like to receive when the plan runs.

- Click Save when you are happy with your selections. If the plan is set to run only a single time and has no set schedule, it will automatically start. Otherwise, if it is set to run only once and is scheduled, it will display in the list of plans until the scheduled time. If it is only set to run once, when it completes successfully, it will remove itself from the list of plans. Only restore plans that are saved will remain in the list for future use.