Global Agent Options

Starting from version 4.7 of Management Console, you can specify the global options for Backup Agent instances for your users as a template. You can apply them in company settings later.

To configure the global notification settings, proceed as follows:

  1. Open the Management Console.
  2. In the Settings menu, select Global Agent Options.

The following options are available to configure:

  • Enable Backup Agent. Select this check box if you intend all users have an access to Backup Agent GUI and will be able to change settings allowed for modification
  • Enable Local Backup in Backup Agent. Select this check box to allow users to back up to local destinations
  • Enable ability to delete files from the Storage tab. Select this check box to allow users to manage their backup contents on the Backup storage tab of the Backup Agent
  • Enable pre/post actions. Select this check box to allow users to configure actions or to add scripts that can be executed before and after backup plans
  • Encryption/ Compression options
    • Show Filename Encryption option. Select this check box to allow users to configure their filename encryption settings
    • Show Encryption option. Select this check box to allow users to configure their encryption settings in Backup Agent
    • Show Compression option. Select this check box to allow users to configure their compression settings in Backup Agent
    • Use Compression by default. Select this check box to apply compression for all backup plans
  • Remote Access options
    • Allow Remote Access to computer. Select this check box to enable remote access to user computers using Remote Desktop
    • Allow to add Remote Desktop to Recovery Disk. Select this check box to include Remote Desktop installer in the recovery disk for disaster cases
  • VSS options
    • Show VSS option. Select this check box to allow users to configure their VSS snapshot settings in their Backup Agent
    • Use VSS by default. Select this check box to apply VSS usage for all allowed backup plans
  • Backup / Restore Plan options
    • Enable backup plan edit. Select this check box to allow users to configure their backup plans themselves
    • Enable restore plan edit. Select this check box to allow users to configure their restore plans themselves
  • RMM Settings
    • Allow Remote Management. Select this option to allow licensed users to monitor or manage user computers where the RMM Agent is installed remotely. This enable RMM alerting services as configured in Settings > Notifications. This feature requires licensing
    • Allow PowerShell Execution. Select this check box to allow licensed users to execute PowerShell commands on user computers remotely.
  • Restore to EC2 / Azure VM options
    • Show Restore to EC2 option. Select this option to allow users to restore their image-based backup to Amazon EC2 instances
    • Show Restore to Azure VM option. Select this option to allow users to restore their image-based backup to Azure VM instances
  • Authentication options
    • Show login/password authentication option. Select this check box to allow users to authenticate using their login/password combination
    • Show Windows authentication (AD Bridge). Select this check box to allow users to authenticate via AD Bridge
    • Show Windows authentication (AD direct mode). Select this check box to allow users to authenticate using Windows authentication
    • Select a default authentication mode for clients.
    • Enable Sign up form to end-users in your rebranded client backup application. Select this option to display the sign-up form in Backup Agent instances
  • Amazon S3 options
    • Specify a default storage class (applies to Amazon S3 backup storage only). To learn more about Amazon S3 storage classes, refer to the Amazon S3 Storage Classes chapter
    • Show storage class options. Select this check box to allow users to select the S3 storage class themselves
    • Show Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration option. Select this check box to allow users to configure S3 transfer acceleration themselves. To learn more, refer to the Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration chapter at docs.aws.amazon.com
    • Use Amazon S3 Transfer Acceleration by default. Select this check box to force Amazon S3 transfer acceleration for users
    • Show SSE option. Select this check box to allow users to configure the Server Side Encryption feature themselves
    • Use SSE by default. Select this check box to force Server Side Encryption usage for users.

Once you are done, click Save Changes.