Article ID: m0073Last Modified: 02-Oct-2026
Regular Retention Policy In Legacy Backup Format
The retention policy for backup plans in the legacy backup format is based on object versions kept in backup storage.
You can use a default retention policy (3 versions are kept for each file, and the purge delay is set to 3 days) or create a custom one for each backup plan in the legacy backup format.
To modify a retention policy for plans in the legacy backup format, proceed as follows:
- Open the Management Console.
- In the Computers menu, select Remote Management.
- Find the required computer, then click the gear icon.
- Select Show Plans.
- Find the required plan (it must be in the legacy backup format), expand it, then click Edit.
- In the backup wizard, switch to the Retention Policy step.
- Make the required changes.
The following retention policy settings are available:
- Delete versions older than. You can make the backup service delete file versions that were modified or uploaded to your backup storage more than a certain number of days ago. When enabling this option, you can also make the backup service always keep the last version of each file regardless of when it was backed up.
- Keep number of versions. You can specify the maximum number of versions kept in backup storage for each file.
- Always keep the last version. Select this check box to always keep the last file version in backup storage.
- Purge delay. You can specify a period of time for which locally deleted files should be maintained in the backup storage before being purged. After these files are removed from the backup storage, you will no longer be able to restore them.

- Click Save.