Auto-Activate Users and OUs
Configure Auto-Activation for New OU
The Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup feature allows automatic activation for new users and Organizational Units (OUs) added to the domains included in your backup project. When new users or OUs are added, 15-day trial licenses for Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup are automatically assigned to enable these users.
License Management:
- Once the trial licenses expire, paid licenses (if available) will automatically be assigned to these users.
- If no paid licenses are available, you will receive a notification. Users who cannot receive paid licenses will be disabled until additional licenses are purchased.
By default, auto-activation for users in added OUs is disabled. You will need to enable this feature if you wish to activate new users automatically.
Auto-Activation for New OU
- Open the Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
- On Users, expand Actions and select Organizational Units.

- Click New OU Auto-Activation.

- Select one of the suggested auto-activation modes:
- All Users. Auto-activate all users in the selected OU(s).
- New Users Only. Auto-activate only new domain users added to the selected OU(s). Existing users will not be affected.
- Disabled. Auto-activation for the new OUs will be disabled.

- Save your selection.
Auto-Activate Users in Existing OUs
An activated user will appear in the grid on Users, and a trial license for 15 days will be automatically assigned to the user. After the trial license expires, an available Backup license will be assigned to the user. If there are no available Backup licenses, the user remains in the list but is excluded from the backup project.

By default, auto-activation for new users is disabled. You can enable it by configuring auto-activation as follows:
- Auto-activate all users in the selected OU(s)
- Auto-activate only new users added to selected OU(s)
Auto-Activate All Users in Selected OU(s)
- Open the Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
- On Users, click the Actions button, then click the Organizational Units option.

- Select the OUs to enable auto-activation for all users, and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.

- Select All Users and click Apply.

Now all users in the selected OUs will always be activated automatically. You can change this setting or auto-activation for any of these OUs whenever you want.
Auto-Activate New Users Added to Selected OU(s)
To auto-activate all new domain users added to the selected OU(s):
- Open the Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
- On Users, click the Actions button, then click the Organizational Units option.

- Select the OUs to enable auto-activation for new users, and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.

- Select New Users Only and click Apply.

Now new domain users added to the selected OUs will always be activated automatically. Existing users will not be affected. You can change this setting or auto-activation for any of these OUs whenever you want.
Disable Auto-Activation
- Open the Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
- On Users, click the Actions button and select Organizational Units.
- Select the OUs for which you want to disable auto-activation, and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.
- Select Disabled and click Apply.

Now users in the selected OUs will not be activated automatically.