Manage Users

This chapter covers the following topics:

Add Users

Add New Users To the Same Domain

To add new users to Google Backup

  1. Click Users
  2. Click the Account menu, then select Sync domain. Users will be added automatically.

Manage Users

To manage users of your domains or separate users, included in Google Backup, select Users in the horizontal menu bar.

All users are listed in the table. Headers are active table elements which allow you to sort lists according to specified criteria.

The table contains the following data:

  • User/Email. User displayed names and email addresses
  • Last backup. Date and time of last backup
  • Backup Size. User backups size on storage
  • Backup License. Backup license status for user. The following statuses are available:
    • Assigned. This status means that the license is assigned to the user and is active. This status is painted green
    • Not available. This status means that license is either deleted or expired. To learn more about licenses, refer to the Licensing chapter
    • Inactive. This status means that backup service is switched off for current user.

Use the filters above the grid to filter the displayed user list.

The following filters are available:

  • User / Domain filter can be used to select:

    • All - all users. This option clears the filter
    • Users in Domain - all users included in backed up domain
    • Users Not in Domain - all users with configured backup that resides outside backed up domain
    • Blocked/suspended Users - all users with sign-in blocked or suspended status

    The following statuses can be used to filter data:

    • All - all users. This option clears the filter
    • With Backup - all users WITH configured backup
    • W/o Backup - all users WITHOUT configured backup
    • Non-Domain with Backup - all users with configured backup that resides outside backed up domain
    • Blocked/suspended - all users with sign-in blocked or suspended status

Icon Explication

Users table contains a set of controls which can be used to manage settings. Learn table icons and their meaning.

Icon Description
Mail backup settings for selected user
Google Drive backup settings for selected user
Contacts backup settings for selected user
Google Calendar backup settings for selected user

To enable multiple users, select required users to turn on enabled status for these users/groups (main selector). The Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace trial licenses will be assigned for these users. Trial licenses expire in 15 days. After the trial licenses expiration, the commercial licenses will be assigned to these users, if available.

Configure Backup Options

To configure backup options for one user, select it, then click Configure Backup.

To configure backup options for multiple users, select required users to apply backup configuration to them. Once you selected required users, then click Configure Backup.

In the pane to the right, enable or disable backup for Google services: Mail, Google Drive, Contacts, and Google Calendar.

Once you are done, click Save.

To disable one or multiple users, select required users to turn off enabled status for these users/groups (main selector). The Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace licenses will be released for these users.

Configure User Permissions

To configure user permissions for one user, select the required user, then click Permissions.

To configure permissions for multiple users, select required users to apply permission configuration to them. Once you selected required users, click Configure Backup.

The following permissions are available:

  • Sign In. Enable this option to allow users (except Google administrator which is granted with this permission by default) to sign in to console and view their settings
  • Restore. Enable this option to allow selected users to restore data from the backup content.

Once you are done, click Save.

Retention Policy

To create and assign a retention policy for users, refer to the Retention Policy chapter.

Export to PST

To export copies of messages, calendar events, and other items for selected user to PST (personal storage table) file, select the required user(s) and click Export To PST. Export task will be created. You can monitor this task in Task Manager. After the task is complete, you will be notified by email. Notification will contain a link to the backup storage folder with exported PST file. You can download exported PST file using this link. Alternatively, you can download exported PST file from the Reporting > Export Results.

Refer to Export to PST chapter for details.

Export to CSV

To export users data to CSV (comma-separated values) file, select the required user(s), then click Actions menu and select Export To CSV. The Users.csv file will be exported to your Downloads folder.

Delete Backup Content

To delete backup content, select the required user, then click Delete Backup.

  1. In the right pane, select Google services to be deleted from backup contents.
  2. Specify the alternate email address. Deletion operations require setting up an alternate email address..
  3. Click Delete. The backup content will be deleted from backup storage

Note that data deletion is not available without providing an alternate email password