Article ID: m0825

Restore and import Hyper-V VM in Backup Agent

Perform this operation on the computer where you want to restore the image-based backup as a Hyper-V virtual machine.

Create Restore Plan

In the Backup Agent, click Restore to proceed with a restore plan.

Select Backup Storage

Select a source cloud or local storage containing the backup to restore.

To add a new storage account, click Add new storage account. Click Next.

Plan Name

Specify whether you need to save the restore plan after completing the wizard, or run the restore procedure only once (without saving this plan and running it automatically on schedule).

You can change the default plan name, if needed.

Click Next.

Select Computer to Restore (Optional)

If a selected backup storage contains backup data from several computers, you will be prompted to select the computer which backup you are planning to use.

Click Next.

Type of Data

+On this wizard page, select the type of data you want to restore.

Note that item-level restore from long-term (cold) backup storages is not currently supported

Type of data depends also on the license type you are using.

All available restore options are active. To proceed with restoring an image-based backup, select the Restore Image-Based Backup option.

Click Next.

Select Backup to Restore

On this wizard page, you choose what backup plan you want to restore.

Click Next.

Restore Point

On this wizard page, you can select whether you need to restore specific file versions, or restore to a specific point in time

.

The following options are available in the wizard:

  • Latest version
    Enables you to restore the latest versions of your images available in a backup. Selecting this option will restore only those image versions that were modified before the most recent backup.
  • Select the Restore Point
    Enables you to restore image versions available in your backup storage at the specified date and time. Selecting this option will restore only those image versions that were modified before the most recent backup and are not yet available in the destination folder. If earlier versions of the corresponding images already exist in the destination folder, they will not be restored unless you explicitly enable their overwriting further in this wizard.
  • Manually (This option can appear if you are restoring legacy backups)
    Enables you to select which versions of each image to restore. You can specify which versions to restore on the next wizard page.

When restoring a backup that was made on another computer, you may need to synchronize the repository to refresh the file tree.

Click Next.

  • On the Restore Type step, select Restore and import Hyper-V VM to restore the image and integrate it to your existing Hyper-V environment. If you need to perform another restore operations, refer to the articles related to other options:

  • Select partitions to restore. You can reorganize partitions using advanced dialog or restore selected partitions to one virtual disk.

  • Configure virtual partitions in the advanced dialog window (optional).

  • Configure the virtual machine to restore. First, select an existing virtual machine or type a name for a new one. Specify the VM parameters. Configure the number of CPUs, startup RAM size, dynamik memory settings, generation, destination folder, and virtual network.

  • To power on the restored virtual machine automatically after the restore is complete, enable the corresponding option (optional).

Encryption Password (Optional)

Specify the encryption password to decrypt the encrypted backup.

Click Next.

Glacier Smart Restore (Optional)

If you restore data from the S3 Glacier Flexible Retrieval or Glacier Deep Archive storage classes, specify Smart Restore options.

The following options are available:

  • Skip files located in Glacier. Select this option to bypass object located in Glacier. Usually, the restore from Glacier takes up to several hours and may be a subject of significant expenses.
  • Restore files located in Glacier. Select this option to restore objects stored in S3 Glacier storage class, then specify a retrieval type. The following types are available: Expedited, Bulk and Standard.

To learn about retrieval rates, refer to the Amazon S3 Glacier pricing chapter at docs.aws.amazon.com.

Click Next.

Schedule Your Restore Plan (Optional)

If you selected to save a created restore plan for further use, select schedule options.

Click Next.

Pre-/Post Actions (Optional)

Specify actions to be executed before or after the restore plan completion.

Pre- or post- actions for Backup Agents can be restricted by provider. To learn more about the pre-/post action settings, refer to the Global Agent Options and Companies chapters

Click Next.

Notifications

Specify email notification settings.

Click Next.

Summary

Check and manage your restore plan

Click Next to create the restore plan. On the Summary step, view the restore plan configuration to make sure everything is set up correctly. Select Run the plan now checkbox to run the plan immediately or leave it unselected and click Finish to run the plan later. You can see the created plan on the Restore Plans tab.

Edit a Restore Plan

To edit the restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Switch to the Restore Plans tab.
  2. Open the restore plan you want to edit by expanding it, then click Edit.
  3. Proceed through the Restore Wizard steps to adjust settings as needed.
  4. If the plan is currently running, you'll need to select one of the following options:
    • Apply changes after the restore plan completes
    • Stop the plan and apply changes.
  5. After choosing the desired option for the running restore plan, click Apply.
  6. Save the edited plan configuration.

You can edit certain scheduled restore plan parameters directly, without using the restore wizard, as long as the restore plan is not currently running. Editable parameters are marked with a pencil icon. To make a quick edit, simply click the pencil icon next to the parameter

Delete a Restore Plan

To delete the restore plan, proceed as follows:

  1. Switch to the Restore Plans tab.
  2. Open the plan to delete, expand it, then click Delete.
  3. Click Yes to confirm the restore plan deletion.
https://git.cloudberrylab.com/egor.m/doc-help-mbs.git
Production