Products: Managed Backup (Web), Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup
Article ID: m0166Last Modified: 05-Oct-2026

Auto-Activate Users and Groups

Configure Auto-Activation for New Group

The Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup feature allows automatic activation for new users and Office 365 Groups added to the domains included in your backup project. When new users or groups are added, 15-day trial licenses for Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup are automatically assigned to enable these users.

License Management:

  • Once the trial licenses expire, paid licenses (if available) will automatically be assigned to these users.
  • If no paid licenses are available, you will receive a notification. Users who cannot receive paid licenses will be disabled until additional licenses are purchased.

By default, auto-activation for users in added groups is disabled. You will need to enable this feature if you wish to activate new users automatically.

Auto-Activation for New Group

  1. Open the Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
  2. On Users, click the New Group Auto-Activation button.

  1. Select one of the suggested auto-activation modes:
    • All Users. Auto-activate all users in the selected group(s).
    • New Users Only. Auto-activate only new domain users added to the selected group(s). Existing users will not be affected.
    • Disabled. Auto-activation for the new groups will be disabled.

  1. Save your selection.

Auto-Activate Users in Existing Groups

An activated user will appear in the grid on Users, and a trial license for 15 days will be automatically assigned to the user. After the trial license expires, an available Backup license will be assigned to the user. If there are no available Backup licenses, the user remains in the list but is excluded from the backup project.

By default, auto-activation for new users is disabled. You can enable it by configuring auto-activation as follows:

  • Auto-activate all users in the selected group(s)
  • Auto-activate only new domain users added to the selected group(s)

Auto-Activate All Users in Selected Group(s)

To auto-activate all users in the selected group(s):

  1. Open the Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
  2. On Users, click the Actions button, then click the User Groups option.

  1. Select the groups to enable auto-activation for all users, and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.

  1. Select All Users and click Apply.

Now all users in the selected groups will always be activated automatically. You can change this setting or auto-activation for any of these groups whenever you want.

Auto-Activate New Users Added to Selected Group(s)

To auto-activate all new users added to the selected group(s):

  1. Open the Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
  2. On Users, click the Actions button, then click the User Groups option.

  1. Select the groups to enable auto-activation for new domain users, and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.

  1. Select New Users Only and click Apply.

Now new domain users added to the selected groups will always be activated automatically. Existing users will not be affected. You can change this setting or auto-activation for any of these groups whenever you want.

Disable Auto-Activation

To disable auto-activation:

  1. Open the Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
  2. On Users, click the Actions button and select User Groups.
  3. Select the groups for which you want to disable auto-activation, and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.
  4. Select Disabled and click Apply.

Now users in the selected groups will not be activated automatically.

https://git.cloudberrylab.com/egor.m/doc-help-mbs.git
Production