Products: Managed Backup (Web), Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup
Article ID: m0192Last Modified: 05-Oct-2026

Back Up Contacts

This chapter covers the following topics:

Prerequisites

To perform Contacts backup, make sure the user has a commercial or trial Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace license.

To maintain Contacts data backup after the Google Contacts API deprecation in favor of the People API, perform the following steps:

  1. Sign in to https://admin.google.com/ with your super administrator account.
  2. Click Main Menu (the hamburger button on the left side).
  3. Select Apps from the menu.
  4. Click Google Workspace Marketplace Apps.
  5. Click Apps List.
  6. Select the MSPBackups app from the app list.
  7. Under Data Access, click Grant Access so that the MSPBackups app can access Contacts data properly.

To learn more about licensing, refer to the Licensing chapter.

Getting Started

To enable Contacts backup, click Configure Backup on the Dashboard and turn on Contacts backup. Select Apply to enabled users to create Contacts backup for all enabled users.

To create the initial backup, click Save. The backup task is created and will be scheduled automatically. You can monitor the backup task processing using the Task Manager.

Once the initial backup is completed, you can view the backed-up content.

If enabled, Contacts backup jobs are scheduled to start automatically twice a day for all users. To immediately run a backup task that adds new items and updates existing items in the backup, click Run Backup. The backup task will be created.

If enabled, Contacts backup jobs are scheduled to start automatically twice a day. To create a backup job immediately for a selected user, click the Backup Now button.

You can export selected contacts or contact folders to a PST file, as described in the Export to PST chapter.

Create Backup Jobs

You can back up specific contacts or contact folders.
To back up only selected contacts, perform the following:

  1. Select the required user.

  1. Select the required contacts.

  1. Click the Run Backup button. You will be notified when the backup job is created.

Restore All Contacts

To restore contacts, select Contacts in the horizontal menu bar. Refer to the Prerequisites for Restore Operations chapter to avoid any issues.

To start the complete restore, click the Restore All button. Restore starts automatically.

You can monitor the restore task processing using the Task Manager.

Folder-Level Restore

You can restore a selected folder in My Contacts. Select the required folder in the folder list, expand the Folder button and select Restore Folder.

The list of backed-up contacts appears on the left panel. To view the required contact, select it. You can select multiple contacts to restore.

You can use the search box to search for the required folder. Start typing a folder name, and then click the search icon.

Delete Contacts

To delete selected contacts, perform the following:

  1. Select the required contacts.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. Provide your alternate email password to confirm the deletion.

Delete Folders

To delete selected contact folders, perform the following:

  1. Select the required folder to delete.
  2. In the horizontal menu, select Folder > Delete Folder.
  3. Provide your alternate email password to confirm the deletion.
https://git.cloudberrylab.com/egor.m/doc-help-mbs.git
Production