Back up OneDrive

Prerequisites

To back up OneDrive, make sure the users included in backup have commercial or trial Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace licenses, and Drive backup is enabled for them .

To learn more about licensing, refer to the Licensing

Get Started with OneDrive Backup

To enable OneDrive backup, click Configure Backup on the dashboard, then turn on Drive backup services. Select Apply to enabled users to create OneDrive backup for all enabled users. You can enable or disable Drive Backup service for one or for multiple users on Users page as described in Manage Users.

To create the initial backup, click Save. The backup task is created and will be scheduled automatically. You can monitor the backup task processing using the Task Manager. Once the initial backup is completed, you can view backed up contents.

If enabled, Drive backup jobs are scheduled to start automatically twice per week for all users. To schedule an urgent backup task to add new and update existing items in the backup, click Backup Now. The backup task will be created.

To view the progress of the backup job created, open the Task Manager.To open it, click the Task Manager icon to the right of the horizontal menu bar.

Restore Item from OneDrive Backup

You can find a necessary file or folder by filename or part of the filename. Type the search expression in search box above the grid and click the search icon. After the search is complete, click the file you need to see all available revisions of the file. To download a required revision of the file, browse the OneDrive backup content, then click the particular file to view its revisions. Revisions appear to the right. Click the required file revision to download it to the Downloads folder. To restore the selected item select one of available restore options. You have the following restore options for selected item:

  • Restore to restore the selected item to the original location. You can select whether you want to restore the latest version or a version associated with selected point in time, then click Restore to create a restore task.
  • Restore to 'Restore' folder to restore the selected item to the Restore folder of the user's drive. You can select whether you want to restore the latest version or a version associated with selected point in time, then click Restore to create a restore task.

You can monitor the restore task processing using the Task Manager.

Delete Item from Backup Content

To delete any item from backup content along with its revisions, select the required item and click Delete. Provide an alternate email password to confirm this action and click Delete.